According to the Constitution, Liechtenstein is a “constitutional hereditary monarchy on a democratic and parliamentary basis.” The Parliament is the representation and “organ” of the people and is therefore called upon to ensure its rights and interests.

The Liechtenstein Parliament (Landtag) consists of 25 Members of Parliament and is therefore small in an international comparison. The President of Parliament and the Vice-President of Parliament are elected in the inaugural meeting of Parliament for the current year.

Parliament meets eight to ten times each year for a duration of one to three days, depending on the work load. In general, meetings are public and are broadcast in their entirety (audio broadcast with still frame on the national television channel). There are also closed meetings during which internal parliamentary business or staff questions are discussed, or during which the Government presents information that is to be kept confidential. Laws and financial proposals must be discussed and adopted in public meetings of Parliament.

The most important functions of Parliament are summarized in article 62 of the Constitution. In addition to its role in the legislative process, supervision of the Government and the exercise of fiscal authority are of particular importance.